About the Comanche Nation Tax Commission

On April 15th, 1995, the Comanche Tribe General Council adopted the Comanche General Revenue and Taxation Act of 1995. The adoption of this Act created the Comanche Tax Commission to oversee all taxation issues and allows the Comanche Tribal Government to fund Governmental operations, license and regulate businesses within the tribal jurisdicational boundaries.

The power to tax is an essential attribute of sovereignty; it is a necessary instrument of self-government and territorial management. This power enables the Comanche Nation government to raise revenues for its essential services by requiring contributions from persons or enterprises engaged in economic activities within our jurisdiction. The Comanche Business Committee has approved Resolutions creating codes for implementation of Sales, Bingo Excise, Tobacco, Oil and Gas Severance, Motor Vehicle Registration, Fireworks Taxation, Boats and Outboard Motors. All these taxes have been implemented.

Vehicle Tags

Vehicle registration for Comanche Nation Tribal Members

Oil & Gas

Lessee or Operator Oil & Gas Licensing

Tobacco & Alcohol

Tobacco Sales and Alcoholic Beverage Application

Jurisdictional Area

The jurisdiction of the Comanche Nation is concurrent with the Kiowa Indian Tribe and Apache Indian Tribe with respect to the commonly held lands of the Kiowa, Comanche and Apache Tribes; such lands referred to as the KCA lands. The jurisdictional area includes the following eight (8) counties:
Comanche, Kiowa, Caddo, Cotton, Tillman, Jefferson, Stephens, and Grady.

Phone Numbers

  • Toll Free: 877.492.4988
  • Local: 580.595.3315 or 3312
  • Fax: 580.595.3318

Our Nation